Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2016 to be streamed live by medici.tv

Gramophone Fri 9th September 2016

The live stream will include performances by the pianist Igor Levit, violinist Vilde Frang and soprano Véronique Gens

Put the date in your diary - on September 15 at 7pm BST (8pm CET, 11am PST and 2pm EST) the Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2016 will be streamed live worldwide by medici.tv, and you will be able to watch the live coverage on medici.tv's website, on classicfm.com, and, of course, right here on gramophone.co.uk.

The Gramophone Awards 2016 will be viewable live on the three platforms and then available to catch-up for 90 days at medici.tv and at gramophone.co.uk and for 30 days at classicfm.com.

The ceremony will feature live performances by pianist Igor Levit, violinist Vilde Frang, soprano Véronique Gens (partnered by Susan Manoff) – and a performance by Gramophone’s Young Artist of the Year (to be revealed on the night). 

Artists receiving Awards during the ceremony include Sir Antonio Pappano, Markus Stenz, Andrew Parrott, Paul Agnew and the Heath Quartet. The ceremony will be hosted by Gramophone’s Editor-in-Chief, James Jolly, who will be joined onstage by guest presenters, including musicians Sonya Yoncheva, Ksenija Sidorova, Miloš Karadaglić, Anoushka Shankar, Classic FM’s Catherine Bott and actor and author Simon Callow.

James Jolly commented on the live-stream: ‘This is a great step in the history of the Gramophone Awards. Not since ITV’s broadcast in 1997 will the Awards have the potential to reach such a large audience thanks to this new collaboration with medici.tv, supported by the BPI, and I guarantee an evening that celebrates the very best in classical music.’

The stream has been made available thanks to contributions by the BPI, Gramophone, Alpha Classics, Avie Records, Channel Classics, Deutsche Grammophon, Discovery Records, Hyperion, Les Arts Florissants, Sony Classical, Warner Classics, Wigmore Hall Live and Winter & Winter. 

Gramophone Subscriptions

From£67/year

Gramophone Print

Gramophone Print

no Digital Edition
no Digital Archive
no Reviews Database
no Events & Offers
From£67/year
Subscribe
From£67/year

Gramophone Reviews

Gramophone Reviews

no Print Edition
no Digital Edition
no Digital Archive
no Events & Offers
From£67/year
Subscribe
From£67/year

Gramophone Digital Edition

Gramophone Digital Edition

no Print Edition
no Reviews Database
no Events & Offers
From£67/year
Subscribe

If you are a library, university or other organisation that would be interested in an institutional subscription to Gramophone please click here for further information.

© MA Business and Leisure Ltd. 2018