The Berlin Philharmoniker European Concert 2010

kYlzrO1BaC7A26th Apr 2010
Alisa Weilerstein plays Elgar [photo: alisaweilerstein.comAlisa Weilerstein plays Elgar [photo: alisaweilerstein.com

The Berlin Philharmoniker is making its first visit to Oxford since Karajan’s celebrated concert in the Sheldonian Theatre in 1978. The orchestra, with Daniel Barenboim conducting, will be performing its traditional European Concert in the same venue on May 1, a concert that marks the foundation of the Berlin Philharmoniker on May 1, 1882.  To mark the occasion the orchestra will be offering a British-German programme of Wagner, Brahms (the First Symphony) and Elgar. The young American cellist Alisa Weilerstein will make her debut with the Berlin orchestra in Elgar’s Cello Concerto, a work Barenboim conducted for his wife, Jacqueline du Pré, with the BPO 40 years ago. 

The Oxford concert is sold out but you can listen to and watch the programme when the Berlin Phil, Barenboim and Weilerstein perform the same concert on Tuesday, April 27, at home in the Philharmonie in Berlin via the Digital Concert Hall. The concert will be webcast live at 8pm Berlin time (7pm UK time; 2pm New York time and 3am Tokyo time). Single tickets are 9.90.

 

Gramophone Subscriptions

From£67/year

Gramophone Print

Gramophone Print

no Digital Edition
no Digital Archive
no Reviews Database
no Events & Offers
From£67/year
Subscribe
From£67/year

Gramophone Reviews

Gramophone Reviews

no Print Edition
no Digital Edition
no Digital Archive
no Events & Offers
From£67/year
Subscribe
From£67/year

Gramophone Digital Edition

Gramophone Digital Edition

no Print Edition
no Reviews Database
no Events & Offers
From£67/year
Subscribe

If you are a library, university or other organisation that would be interested in an institutional subscription to Gramophone please click here for further information.

© MA Business and Leisure Ltd. 2018