Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2018 winners revealed

Friday, August 31, 2018

Recordings featuring Arcadi Volodos, Joyce DiDonato, Marianne Crebassa and the Pavel Haas Quartet are among this year's winners

Gramophone Awards 2018

After months of deliberation and hours of listening, the category winners for the Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2018 – presented in association with Estonia 100, BPI, and Qobuz – are revealed!

Released over the past 12 months, these outstanding recordings represent the best in their fields - drawn from an initial list of many hundreds of recordings which is reduced to a shortlist of 60 and voted for by our specialist critics.

You can read the full reviews of each of the winning recordings in the 10 categories by visiting the Gramophone Awards section of this website or by following the links below:

Chamber Award

(Sponsored by Kings Place)

Dvořák Piano Quintets: Boris Giltburg; Pavel Nikl; Pavel Haas Quartet (Supraphon) Explore the recording

Choral Award

Pärt Magnificat. Nunc dimittis Schnittke Psalms of Repentance: Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir / Kaspars Putniņš (BIS) Explore the recording

Concerto Award 

Bartók Violin Concertos Nos 1 & 2: Christian Tetzlaff; Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Hannu Lintu (Ondine) Explore the recording

Contemporary Award 

(Sponsored by PPL & PRS for Music)

Dusapin String Quartets Nos 6 & 7: Arditti Quartet; Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France / Pascal Rophé (Aeon) Explore the recording

Early Music Award 

‘Music from the Peterhouse Partbooks, Vol 5’: Blue Heron / Scott Metcalfe (Blue Heron) Explore the recording

Instrumental Award 

Brahms Piano Pieces, Opp 76, 117 & 118: Arcadi Volodos (Sony Classical) Explore the recording

Opera Award

(Sponsored by E. Gutzwiller & Cie, Banquiers)

Berlioz Les Troyens: Sols incl DiDonato, Spyres, Lemieux; Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra / John Nelson (Erato) Explore the recording

Orchestral Award 

(Sponsored by IDAGIO)

Ravel Daphnis et Chloé: Ensemble Aedes; Les Siècles / François-Xavier Roth (Harmonia Mundi) Explore the recording

Recital Award

‘Agitata’: Delphine Galou; Accademia Bizantina / Ottavio Dantone (Alpha Classics) Explore the recording

Solo Vocal Award

(Sponsored by Mrs Joan Jones)

‘Secrets’: Marianne Crebassa; Fazıl Say (Erato) Explore the recording

Listen to the winners

On September 13 one of these 10 Award-winning albums will be named our Recording of the Year at an event in London that will also reveal, among others, our Artist of the Year, Young Artist of the Year, Label of the Year and the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. You will be able to watch the entire ceremony via a livestream on

Gramophone Print

  • Print Edition

From £6.87 / month


Gramophone Digital Club

  • Digital Edition
  • Digital Archive
  • Reviews Database
  • Events & Offers

From £9.20 / month


Gramophone Reviews

  • Reviews Database

From £6.87 / month


Gramophone Digital Edition

  • Digital Edition
  • Digital Archive

From £6.87 / month



If you are a library, university or other organisation that would be interested in an institutional subscription to Gramophone please click here for further information.