Join Joyce DiDonato at home alongside the tenor Piotr Beczala

With the cancellation of the Met's Werther performances, its central characters invite you to join them in excerpts – live streamed today (Sunday, March 15)

The mezzo Joyce DiDonato and tenor Piotr Beczala will present excerpts from Massenet’s Werther from DiDonato’s New York living room. Both singers were due to perform the work at the Metropolitan Opera this month but, due to Covid-19, performances were cancelled (the final performance on April 4 is still scheduled).

DiDonato and Beczala will sing excerpts accompanied by the harpist Emmanuel Ceysson and the pianist Howard Watkins. The live stream will be shown on Facebook and Instagram and will begin this afternoon (Sunday, March 15) at 3pm EST (8pm UK/9pm CET).

Writing on her Facebook page, DiDonato suggests that ‘If you feel moved, please consider making a donation to an organization, theater, orchestra as a gesture of thanks. Every dollar/euro will count, as artists now are flying without a financial net for the foreseeable future. Your generosity – at any amount – will make a huge difference. Any organization will be happy to accept your support, but two options – Artists Relief Tree and AGMA Relief Fund – will ensure donations go directly to artists.'

Gramophone Print

  • Print Edition

From £67/year

Subscribe

The Gramophone Digital Club

  • Digital Edition
  • Digital Archive
  • Reviews Database
  • Events & Offers

From £90/year

Subscribe

Gramophone Reviews

  • Reviews Database

From £67/year

Subscribe

Gramophone Digital Edition

  • Digital Edition
  • Digital Archive

From £67/year

Subscribe

If you are a library, university or other organisation that would be interested in an institutional subscription to Gramophone please click here for further information.