Watch the Gramophone Charity Gala on YouTube

Three hours of wonderful performances by Gramophone Award-winning artists, all in aid of Help Musicians UK

The Gramophone Classical Music Awards Winners Charity Lockdown Gala premiered last night and was enjoyed by thousands of viewers around the world.

The broadcast expired at 11.59pm on May 31, 2020.


The Programme

Evelyn Glennie


Sir Antonio Pappano

Bach: Italian Concerto in F, BWV971 – Andante

I Fagiolini

Cake Walk by Timothy Knapman music y Monteverdi

Vilde Frang

Tarrega: Recuerdos de la Alhambra

Stephen Hough

Paderewski: Nocturne Op 16 No 4

Sean Shibe

Scottish lute manuscripts (arr Shibe): Swit Saint Nickola (Rowallan Manuscript); Mervell’s Sarabande (Wemyss Manuscript); The Canaries I and II (Straloch Manuscript); A Scotts Tune by Mr Leslie (Rowallan Manuscript)

Sir Simon Rattle


Víkingur Ólafsson

Rameau (arr Ólafsson): The Arts and the Hours

James Ehnes

Bach: Sonata in C, BWV1005 – Largo & Allegro assai

Delphine Galou & Ottavio Dantone

Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale - 'Jubilet tota civitas' & JS Bach: St Matthew Passion – 'Mache dich, mein Herze, rein'

Paavo Järvi


Rachel Podger

Bach: Partita in E, BWV1006 – Preludio, Loure & Gavotte en rondeau

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Clementi: Keyboard Sonata in A, Op 50 No 1 – Allegro maestoso e con sentimento

Colin Currie

Bryce Dessner: Tromp Miniature

Beatrice Rana

Chopin: Scherzo No 3 in C sharp minor, Op 39

Lise Davidsen

Grieg: En Svane

Bertrand Chamayou

Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte

Martyn Brabbins


Ian and Oliver Bostridge

Beethoven: Ich liebe dich, WoO123

Boris Giltburg

Chopin: Ballade No 1 in G minor, Op 23

Hilary Hahn


Bertrand Chamayou & Sol Gabetta

Dall’Abaco: Capricci Nos 1 and 5 & Chopin (transc Glazunov): Etude Op 25 No 7

Sir James and Lady Jeanne Galway

Schulz: Flute Sonata - two movts. Telemann: Duet in Canon. Galway: A Jig

Sabine Devieilhe & Raphaël Pichon

Kurt Weill: Youkali

Piotr Anderszewski


Pavel Haas Quartet

Dvořák: String Quartet No 12 in F, 'American' – Allegro ma non troppo

Jakub Józef Orliński  & Aleksander Dębicz

Nicola Fago: Il Faraone sommerso – 'Alla gente a Dio diletta' & Orliński/Dębicz: 'Stay home'

How to donate

100% of your donations will go to Help Musicians UK.

You can donate online at

Or you can text to donate (UK networks only):

To donate £5, text MUSIC1 to 70970

To donate £10, text MUSIC1 to 70191

* Fundraising, payments and donations will be processed and administered by the National Funding Scheme (Charity No: 1149800), operating as DONATE. Texts will be charged at your standard network rate. For Terms & Conditions, see

(*UK networks only. Please note that those with a non-UK SIM cannot use UK premium text services)

Ian Bostridge, Bertrand Chamayou, Aleksander Dębicz, Sabine Devieilhe, Vilde Frang, Jakub Józef Orliński, Sir Antonio Pappano and Beatrice Rana appear courtesy of Erato/Warner Classics.

Víkingur Ólafsson​ appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

Lise Davidsen appears courtesy of Decca.

Sol Gabetta appears courtesy of Sony Classical.

Gramophone also wishes to thank Chandos, Channel Classics, Delphian Hyperion, Naïve, Naxos, Onyx & Supraphon.

Gramophone Print

  • Print Edition

From £67/year


The Gramophone Digital Club

  • Digital Edition
  • Digital Archive
  • Reviews Database
  • Events & Offers

From £90/year


Gramophone Reviews

  • Reviews Database

From £67/year


Gramophone Digital Edition

  • Digital Edition
  • Digital Archive

From £67/year


If you are a library, university or other organisation that would be interested in an institutional subscription to Gramophone please click here for further information.